Day 1: Hofstra in NYC


By: Riana Kamath

Today was the first day of our Hofstra in NYC trip. After we arrived and unpacked at the FIT dorms, we had the opportunity to see the vessel in the Hudson Yards and go for a High Line walk that is located on the waterfront of the Hudson River. It was my first time seeing the vessel and hearing the history behind the architecture, with its reflecting copper-clad exterior and honeycomb-like resemblance. The High Line walk was my favorite part of the day because we saw a lot of the city, the river, surrounding buildings, and the residential apartments. I was amazed to see the amount of plants and flowers on the High Line, it was not something I’ve seen a lot in the city, it was nice to see this along with the unique infrastructure. I learned that the Hudson Yards was originally an above-ground railroad between the Chelsea and Hell’s Kitchen. One of my favorite spots has been the Chelsea market which we were able to walk through today and see all the shops and restaurants. We ended the night by going to the Chelsea Bell restaurant and getting to know each other more. I’m really looking forward to the rest of the week, learning more about the city, and visiting our upcoming PR companies. 

3 responses

  1. Michael block | Reply

    Hey Jeff, Perhaps John could give the group a tour of the pier? Is it worth exploring?

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    1. MIke — Nice idea but as you can imagine, I have every hour booked this week. This student posted to the wrong blog, by the way. This year’s blog is here https://hofstrainnyc2023.wordpress.com/

      1. Michael block | Reply

        I had a feeling. I will check out the blog.

        Sent from my iPhone

        <

        div dir=”ltr”>

        <

        blockquote type=”cite”>

Leave a comment